RSS

Daily Archives: January 29, 2011

Struggling with exercise this week

This entire week exercising has been a struggle. It’s my fourth week of being more active, and I’s been a slow slog every single day to make myself go to the gym, feel like I’m improving (I’m just not seeing it), dealing with some really sore/tense muscles that have made me want to stay home and heal up. Last night I had no idea what I was going to do. I didn’t feel up to the treadmill or the elliptical, due to stress it would put on my cramping feet muscles, or the muscle on the back of my legs below the calf (ie, pressing off, running, or going uphill at all). So I was not looking forward to last night. I thought I might do some upper body weights and a piddly little bit of cardio, just to go. Instead, I joined J in yoga class.

He’s been trying to convince me to go. I initially told him no way, yoga is hard. I can’t do most of the poses (I’ve tried a time or two in the past), and I’m not in shape enough yet. But I went last night. Omigod it was hard. I panted a lot, couldn’t do some of the poses, had to take a few breaks. I just sat down and rubbed my cramping feet. But I did most of it. By the end, whew, glad I made it through, that had been my main goal. J wanted to do some cardio after, too, while I was ready to go lie down, so I just walked on the treadmill (my leg muscle still not being up to going uphill or running) for 150 calories, 22 minutes until he was ready. Then when I got home, all the soreness kicked in. My lower back muscles. My stomach! Ugh. Now I know why I was trying not to go. Grin. This morning? I hurt in more stomach muscles than I remember having!

So will I go again? Reluctantly, probably, but I may only go once weekly. I am extremely non-flexible and I know this will be amazing for me. I know it will be a while before I can it well and not feel like a fish floppin’ around out of water. And yes, everyone else was healthy looking, in shape, and able to do everything without falling over in the balance poses (except maybe 2 other people!). At least I didn’t hear any sniggers or chortles while I was there. And why J had to put his mat front and center in the class, so I felt obliged to be next to him, front and center, instead of at the back of the class in the corner, was even more annoying.

I think I’m PMS right now, so many that’s why I’m having such a hard time with the gym this week. I hope it passes soon. I will say that if I hadn’t had a partner to drag me to the gym or tell me to go get ready, I may have skipped out once or twice this week. Instead, I’ve gone every day except my Thursday off (my schedule doesn’t allow me to go then). So the lesson for this week is that a partner keeps you accountable. Go J!

Now I just have to get my duff off the couch (I loooooove lounging on Saturday mornings) get dressed, figure out a menu plan, and go get fixings to make my ginormous batch of pot stickers! I decided I’m going to make my own instead of buy the big bags of ling lings from Costco. Mmmmm. Now I have to go browse foodgawker and find which version I’m gong to make. Pork? Shrimp? Tofu shiitake?

Stay strong everyone…and see you all at the gym later!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2011 in Gym