RSS

Weekend: down time & major up time

21 Aug

OMG hiking is hard! I’m glad I’m finally getting in shape. I did the steepest hike yet this year, Blanca Lake. Spent 8 hours on the trail, including an hour and a half stop at and in the lake. Hard work, lots of sweat, but fun times. Didn’t sound too bad on paper: 7.5 miles, 3300′ elevation gain. Definitely the most elevation I’ve done in 2012, and in such a short trip – most of my hikes are closer to the 9-10 mile range. So it was twice as steep and 3/4 as long. Whew! Still tired thinking about it.

The heat a few days earlier had gottten to me, so I took Saturday off to do a bunch of errands, relax, and soak up some down time. I still managed to get in 2 walks, so it wasn’t a total loss. I left myself a free meal that night, as I had a friend coming over for dinner (she’s my one main friend that is NOT on a special lose-weight diet). I thought it would be hot, so planned a picnic, which we would then walk down to the water and find a spot and . eat as the sun set. Ended up being a rather healthy meal, but it never got warm so we picniced in an overcast, cool evening. Still, it was so much fun! I made shrimp and scallop ceviche (no oil at all!), roasted chicken sandwiches with a tomato bruschetta spread instead of mayo, with a lot of veggies including pan-fried zucchini. Dessert was fruit salad. Overall, I did awesome. But I did have a shot of tequila and a small glass of white wine. I had also overdone it at a company summer party on Friday night – while I avoided alcohol, I did have 2 slices of pizza. It was within what I budgetted for the day, but when I got home, I kept going and ate a little too much (popcorn WITH butter on it, and extra dark chocolate, and a shot of brandy). Not too bad between both days, but definitely not something to continue with. Which leads me to Sunday, which I think more than made up for the prior 2 days of eating “a little too much.”

Sunday was a blast. I got up at 5:30 am, to get my friend picked up and be at the trailhead by 9 am. We got to the lake just after lunch, and had a nice refreshing dip to clean off all the grime and grit (and man, was it cold!!!). I ended up burning 2560 calories on the hike. Yeah!

Unfortunately, due to it being Sunday, we got stuck in major traffic on the way back. We had dinner at a local diner and I decided I could afford a cheeseburger, which was oh so delicious. I even ate a few french fries. Still, I kept to water and healthy food during the hike and still managed to eat my regular amount of calories for the day! By the time this was all over, I was getting home at 10:15 pm. It was hard to keep my eyes open on the drive home, but I managed it, and shortly crashed in bed.

Today I’m doing all the tasks I couldn’t do yesterday: making a pot of soup for the week (chicken sausage, kale, garbanzo vegetable soup), laundry, and finally posting here! I’m resting, since the muscles are still pretty sore. I’m noticing that after a day of major exertion and sweating, I tend to be quite hungry the next day. I’m finding that I’m eating more than normal the day after, so I’m not too worried. I ate about 200 calories too many today, but I should be ok tomorrow.

Tomorrow is get out and exercise day, followed by let’s start doing some core exercies like planks evening. Can’t wait (that was sarcasm by the way). Soups done, I’m overdue for sleep, and I finally got in my 8th cup of water for the day. Luckily, I spent my time wisely, and have made a nice, healthy lunch for the rest of the week. I even portioned it out so I can just grab it and go. 4 jars full of soup, 4 days left in the week.

‘Night, dietmaven out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Excuses, Weekend warrior

 

Leave a Reply

 
