RSS

Polar Heart Monitor & setting a baseline

07 Aug

I got a polar heart rate monitor, the FT7, a week ago. I wanted to get an accurate idea of what kinds of calories I burn when I do my weekend warrior routine. Sorry runtastic app, I’m not sure I trust you, plus I don’t want to completely drain my cellphone battery running your little app for 6 hours on a hike. So I got it and I’ve been having fun figuring out how much I burn.

4.5 hour cycle ride (41 miles) = 2150
1 hour brisk walk = 250 calories (it was supposed to be like 430 according to online calculators for my speed/weight/height; I wonder if my bruise was keeping me slow and I didn’t realize it, or if I’m fit enough that a completely flat walk on pavement doesn’t burn very much?)

Today, I’m running an experiment. You know all those online calculators you can use to determine the number of calories you need to eat to maintain your weight? Well, I’m trying it out myself. Today I put on the monitor at 7:30 am, right after a shower. I’ll wear it all day, all night. Tomorrow I’ll check and see how many calories I burned in a day. Just for experiment’s sake, I may or may not go for a walk – I do want to get a baseline, “regular” non-active day as a guide.

I have found out that so far, my resting heartrate (sitting in the car) is between 60-62. My getting up and moving around lightly, getting lunch together at home is about 85. As of right now, 2.25 hours in, I’ve burned 220 calories. Can’t wait to see how I do in a day, plus how much I burn sleeping!

dietmaven out.

Update: 7:30 am – 10:30 am: 1464 calories
Still left to gather: 10:30 – 7:30 am (including my 8 hours of sleeping)
Guestimated total: I’m thinking it will be around 2100-2200 total for the day

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Calorie burn

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Polar Heart Monitor & setting a baseline

  1. Lisa Eirene (@LisaEirene)

    August 10, 2012 at 14:05

    I love my HRM. It totally changed how I worked out. I became much more efficient in using my time!

     
  2. dietmaven

    August 10, 2012 at 14:12

    I’m liking it a lot so far. Can’t wait for this weekend to see how I do on my first hike wearing it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
