RSS

My iron clad will & gym commitment

05 Sep

Last night was a test of my newfound commitment to workout at least 6 days per week. I was too sore on Friday to go to the gym, and Saturday I didn’t have an opportunity, due to being on a road trip from 7 am until10:30 pm. So Sunday, no excuses. But I didn’t feel like it. So what? I said I was going to go, and that there was no reason not to, so I went. My iron clad will made me. And I’m glad I did.

I have to remember how wonderful it is to be at the gym on the weekends, let alone a holiday weekend when everyone else is out of town. I practically had the gym to myself! I made myself get there in time for Iron Chef to be on at 7 pm. I even had my pick of treadmills – there 3 that are my absolute favorites as they are immediately in front of the fan, the only one in the whole cardio room! Have I mentioned that I sweat a lot? I mean, *a lot*! I have to wipe thick rivulets of sweat off my brow when I work out, and that usually starts in the first 20 minutes. As my normal time is at least 60 minutes, that’s a lot of drippage! There’s nothing worse than having salt drip into your eyes. Or to get hot and thirsty, lick your lips and get a mouthful of salt. Ick. So those spots in front of the oscillating fan are so lovely! I hate it on Mondays and Tuesdays when I’m forced to pick the first open machine and it’s miles away from the fan and its lovely cool breeze.

Anyway, back to last night! I was still stiff and sore. I didn’t want to go, but I made myself. I have decided that feeling like not doing a work out is no excuse for not going. I figured since I was so sore that I’d just do hill walking. I didn’t think I’d want to run, so I just did a fast paced walk at an incline, and started ramping it up every minute. It wasn’t so bad as I thought it’d be. And then the first commercial break came on. Dilemna! Every other time I’ve watched iron chef I have made myself run during the breaks. So it was force of habit that made me switch from hills to a flat run. I started at 4.5, super slow and easy, just to get into the rhythm of it. And ya know what, after 30 seconds of ow ow ow I’m so stiff and my muscles are not ready for this, it was fine! I ended up doing the dietmaven interval special! Here’s what I do. Rather than normal intervals, 1-2 minutes on FAST, then 1-2 minutes at a slow recovery pace, I ramp up until I can’t handle it anymore. I start out slow, say 4.5 or so, and after every time interval (this can vary from a minute or 30 seconds or if I’m trying to do it quickly, every 15 seconds) you bump up the speed by .1. In a commercial break, you don’t have long, so I went from 4.5 to 5.5 in less than 3 minutes. If you feel strong and want to push it, keep going. I often get to about 6.0-6.5 and then get super tired, and go to 3.0 or 3.5 to rest for a bit, before trying it again. My absolute best was making it to 7.0 and that was pure will (I was trying to compete with the thin athletic girl running at 7.0 next to me :).

Anyway, the running was way easier than I thought it’d be. I was sore, but moving sure helped work on blood flow through tired muscles. I went back to hill walks during the show, all the better to watch (unfortunately, battle okra will not live on as one of my favorite things to try and reproduce!). I ran every commercial break, even continuing on for a few extra minutes on my internval special since a really fantastic song came on (oh yeah, I switch from tv listening to tunes during breaks – that extra motivation really helps! I mean, how energized do you think you’ll feel watching a commercial for a car, I mean really!!). By the end of the hour, I felt bad I wasn’t going to be running, and that I had spent most of the hour walking.

Then I remembered I was going to amp up my workouts. I didn’t have to just do an hour. I could and should do more! So I restarted the machines (stupid 1 hour time limits!) and started running. I did my interval special and then did regular intervals. 1 minute on, 1 minute off. Every minute on would be at a slightly increased speed from the last one. I was up to 6.4 speeds (relatively fast for me), and then a muscle started bothering me. Just one, but the kind that I’ve learned means soreness and down time, so I cut my workout short at that point. I followed up with some foam rolling, something I am going to try and do more of, and went home.

I’m glad I worked out. I didn’t think I had it in me, but my body is made of sterner stuff than my will sometimes. Oh yeah, and my weight is at 208. No change from last time. Which goes to show you why I am choosing to both go more often (at least 6 days of hard exercise per week) and amp up the intensity (more than 60 minutes every time I go, and absolutely more than 600 calories burned per session).

Stats: 1:22 hr cardio
Miles: 5.5
Calories burned: 820

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in Goals, Gym

 

Leave a Reply

 
