RSS

Changes in routine = BAD!

25 Aug

Well, it’s a good thing to have a partner in crime. They keep you accountable. Today I got out of work at 5 pm, so early! I’m so used to getting home at 7 pm, that getting home so earlier, with a full 2 hours to go before the yoga class tonight, left me completely at wit’s end. So I caught up on some blog reading, and started to get that overly comfortable feeling, sitting in a chair, all cozy, on the internet, with a cool breeze coming in the window, getting chill and relaxed… And then I no longer felt like going to the gym!!!

It’s so funny. The later I work, the less fuss and nonsense I have room for. I get home, give my lovely kittens their 10 minutes of pettings, feed them a treat, and then immediately get ready for the gym. I change, get my clothes all folded into my gym bag, grab a towell, and off I go! There’s no room for getting tired, getting distracted, only complete and utter focus. I don’t have to think about whether or not I want to go to the gym, it’s just a given! Without time to have those thoughts, I don’t think about it, and don’t talk myself out of going. I go, it’s as simple and concrete as that!

Here’s a typical day: get up, make lunch, go to work, work for 8.5 to 10.5 hours (on average), go home, get changed, go to the gym, shower, go home, pet the cats, make dinner, watch something on netflix for an hour, go to bed. That’s my weekday, almost every day. Throw me a curve ball, like 2 hours of down time between home and changing for the gym, and there’s a good chance I’ll talk myself out of going. Except for, oh yeah, my live-in gym partner and personal motivator.

I have always heard how much better it is to work out in the morning. Get it over with, blah blah… Rev your metabolism more fully, blah blah, blah… But you know what? It doesn’t work for me. I can’t even get up 10 minutes early!!! I roll out of bed 30 or 40 minutes after my alarm, with only enough time to give the rudimentary 10 minutes of dedicated pettings to my cats (they are very high maintenance), get dressed, play with the cats again, make my breakfast and coffee, and get to work, hopefully not more than 5 minutes late. Anyway, the point is, I don’t do mornings well. Somehow, however, I’m able to work late, be worn out from work, and still have the energy to go to the gym, and not have dinner until 9:30 or 10 pm. It’s my routine, I’m used to it, and I don’t mind working out late. I typically don’t get to the gym before 7 or 7:30. I guess tonight wouldn’t have been an issue…if I went straight there after getting home. Unfortunately for me, I was waiting for a class, and for a change was able to leave work at a normal time, thus had a full 2 hours to kill!

I was going to talk about yoga last night, but this blog post got derailed. I didn’t even know I was going to write about this until it happened – I guess I just needed to talk about this. I’ll have to save the yoga results for later, grin!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Gym

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
