RSS

Weigh in and gym buffet

23 Aug

Haven’t officially “weighed in” in a while. Still don’t have a scale at home, so I use the weights and lever one in the locker room at my gym. Tonight? 208!!! I’m down 1 pound from last week. I worked out super hard last week, but after soreness/issues with a hip muscle, the upsurge in heat and humidity (which sucks all vitality out of me), and eating just waaaay too much this weekend, I only have 1 pound to show for the work,  instead of more. Oh well, at least I’m going down and working at it!!

In other news, my trainer was “fired” from the gym. She is opening her own place, also in my neighborhood. That sucks, since I have 3 more sessions to use up and I don’t want to just switch to a new trainer for only a short while. I may stick with her, and train at her place, soon to be opened in 1-2 months, and pay less than at 24 hour fitness.

I haven’t switched yet, so my normal training day, which is tomorrow, is now empty. I never make it into the gym when there’s a manager to facilitate this, as I don’t show up until 7:30 or later any evening! I think tomorrow, I may try out some of the gym’s other class options, particularly a class that I haven’t taken since February…Yoga!

Last time I took that I hurt so bad for 3 days that I couldn’t laugh or sneeze without intense pain. That’s what I got for having avoided any core muscle work before having my ass handed to me after an hour long extremely grueling experience that I swore off until I was in a lot better physical shape. If you have never taken yoga, let me tell you – it is HARD! Anyway, with all the strength training I’ve been doing, including abs/core, I think I may have a chance to make it through an hour without leaving, or sitting out the last 10 minutes (like last time!!). I may try and run tomorrow for a half hour or so, THEN go to yoga. Depends on how nastily muggy and humid it is.

So, that’s the news, the plan, and my current status. Be well… dietmaven out.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2011 in Gym, Weight loss

 

4 responses to “Weigh in and gym buffet

  1. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    August 24, 2011 at 03:33

    You’re rolling right along here! If you can still lose on a week that was less than stellar, then you’re on the right track. 🙂

    You could look at your last 3 sessions with the current place as ‘maintenance’ just to keep you going until your trainer opens her new place.

     
    • dietmaven

      August 24, 2011 at 17:44

      Yah, thanks Cammy, a loss, no matter how small, is at least in the right direction! It’s wierd, I feel almost dependant on the trainer session, as if that is the cornerstone of my gym experience, and it’s only one a week! I shouldn’t feel so adrift just with this one change. But I will admit there have been some very noticeable strength/muscle changes since I started, which is why I feel disgruntled about the change. But it will work out, one way or another. Maybe a new trainer will give me some new exercises/routines!

       
  2. Ellen

    August 24, 2011 at 16:33

    I’ll be rooting for you as you head into yoga. Today I went for my fifth class and I’m STILL in beginning yoga. I’m not ready to move on, yet. Your post reminded me of something my instructor said today (all the rest in the class were first timers). She said, ‘Don’t worry about what your neighbor is doing. He/she has a different body, bones are structured differently, muscles are different; it is physically impossible for everyone to do the exact same pose correctly, especially in the beginning. If you can’t do it, modify or go into child’s pose.’
    And I did a couple of times. I figure, if I injure myself, then while I’m nursing that injury for weeks, I’ll have thought I was doing pretty darned well as a beginner! Be good to yourself. I’m right there with you!

     
    • dietmaven

      August 24, 2011 at 17:48

      Thanks Ellen! I read about your yoga trepidation experience – I’m glad you are sticking with it!! While you got so much out of the calming nature of yoga, I’m hoping to improve my flexibility and overall limberness. By the way, you might seriously think about T’ai Chi – it’s a lot easier than yoga and has some of the same meditative qualities.

       

Leave a Reply

 
