RSS

Oh no! My first injury?

18 Aug

In the past week, I have had recurring pain in a muscle on the left side of my hip. It all started that night I ran my furthest to date (6.5 miles in 90 minutes). The musle started to hurt the last 15 minutes, but it wasn’t severe enough for me to stop. I pushed through the discomfort, knowing I’d be hurting the next day, but not thinking it would be anything to worry about.

Since then, I’ve had this pain regularly. It’s on the very side of my hip, and in the thick muscle over the hip joint (so not the IT band, not the groin, and not the glutes). The muscle is just plain aggravated. I’ll take a day off (from running), and the next day it will be ok. So I’ll then run and it start to hurt after. I’ve been on this schedule for the past week, running every other day, and having the muscle be sore every day after. I’ve never had this problem before, because I’ve never run this much or this consistently before.

Last night I got some good news. I had my weekly session with my trainer and she helped me figure out that it was my (and forgive me as I have no idea how to spell this) pera forma muscle, which is deep, and not a surface muscle. The pain I’ve been feeling is caused by overuse, specifically running, tightness, and lack of flexibility. All of these describe me 100%! I run a lot, am very inflexible, and do not stretch nearly enough.

And even better, all I have to do is stretch consistently, before and after, and this should go away. I now have 3 stretches she showed me how to do, all of which are straightforward, and definitely gave some immediate relief after doing them. I’m very excited that this isn’t a severe injury. It’s just an indication that in order to push and continue growing as a runner, which I like to think of myself as becoming, I just have to plan better, and take better care to do this activity safely.

So the plan is today, take the night off, catch up on person things, and stretch. Tomorrow I hope to do a solid hour+ run, with lots of stretching before and after!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in Injury

 

3 responses to “Oh no! My first injury?

  1. Sasha

    August 18, 2011 at 07:29

    It’s so good to see you blogging again! I’m glad you stayed active and didn’t gain weight. 😀 My husband has had hip pain from running and pilates seems to help tremendously. He’s strong but lacked flexibility.

     
  2. dietmaven

    August 18, 2011 at 08:05

    Thank you! It’s good to be back. I forgot how inspiring the blogging world is!

    Haven’t done or tried pilates, it’s not offered where I gym (in a time slot that I’m available for). I’m curious, but not sure I’ll have the opportunity to learn more. Will see how well the stretching does. Glad you stopped by!

     
  3. Lisa Eirene

    August 20, 2011 at 12:50

    Hip pain is no joke. Been there, done that– TWICE! The first time for me it was my sacrum. The second was the IT Band. If you can go to yoga and a physical therapist, try to do that. And lots of rest! 🙂 Feel better

     

Leave a Reply

 
