RSS

Public validation

15 Aug

Everyone that has ever lost weight has wondered if people notice. You’ve all been there, right? You go from couch potato/slacker to intense gym athlete. You shift your mental image of yourself, and in your head you’re this buff, athletic, ripped, healthy person. But your body is still covered with a thick layer of fat. You still wear the same clothes, maybe a tad loser, or maybe in a size smaller. You power on, and keep up with the many nights (or mornings) of gym visits and sweat.

And then the miraculous happens. Someone makes a comment. “Have you lost weight?” or maybe “You look really good by the way!” The day you’ve been waiting for, for weeks, or even months (in my case), has finally arrived. Someone else validates all your hard work.

In the past week this has happened not once, but twice. It helps that it has happened with people I either haven’t seen regularly, or for several months. It hasn’t been with my closest friends, or coworkers, but it finally happened!!! (insert happy dance)

Now, remember, I’m at virtually the same weight I was in March. I weighed 211 then. I weigh 209-210 now (or I did last week…. haven’t officially weighed myself yet this week). My clothes still fit the same mostly. But I know I have significantly increased my muscle mass. So while this is amazing to me, and makes me giddy, I also wonder, “huh?” In 4-5 months I’ve lost 2 pounds. Yet 2 sets of people (one I haven’t seen since March, the others I see about every month or so) both said I looked really really good since they saw me last. Again, “Huh?”

I think this goes to show that weight alone is not a good indication of health. If I weigh 2 pounds less, but look loads better, that must mean that I’ve lost more weight and just put on more muscle. Either way, I’ll take it!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Inspirations

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Public validation

  1. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    August 15, 2011 at 11:01

    Yaay! Those compliments are just fuel for the fire, right? And you’re absolutely right–the body shows changes that the scale doesn’t!

     
    • dietmaven

      August 15, 2011 at 17:03

      Thankfully so! I would hate to have nothing to show for 4 months of effort. But yes, they certainly do help with motivation.

       
  2. Dawn

    August 15, 2011 at 14:51

    Great isn’t it to get compliments!
    It proves we are making progress.
    I am new to your blog but its very encouraging that you came back to your blog, we all have to manage to do the best we can however hard..a new follower, I shall enjoy watching your renewed success
    Dawn

     
    • dietmaven

      August 15, 2011 at 17:22

      Welcome Dawn! Yeah, I felt like a heal for not posting, which made me want to post even less. I think the recommitment helped me want to blog again. Either way, it can be a struggle on a regular basis, which is hilariously funny as I get super frustrated when I read other blogs where people disappear for weeks/months. I’m left wondering “What the hey? What happened, where are you?” And then I go and do the same thing myself.

       

Leave a Reply

 
