RSS

Running personal best!!!

13 Aug

I’ve been gone so long from the blogosphere and now I’m more than making up for it!!! I just had to share…

I’ve recently decided to push my workouts to be longer than 1 hour. I want to add at least 100 calories of exercise burn every time I work out to what I had been doing.

So last night I knew I was going to do cardio and run on the treadmill. Instead of running for an hour, which works out to about 600 calories, I decided I would push to 6 miles and 900 calories. I thougth I’d do an extra 30 minutes, for 90 minutes of running. And I did it!!!!!

I knew I wouldn’t be able to do this at a fast pace, so I kept my running speed between 4.6 – 5.0 (MPH), no incline, and just went slow and steady. 50 minutes, 4 miles, 550 calories, no problem! I had to reset the machine as it stops after an hour, so I reset at this point, took a minute to walk and rehydrate, and kept going. There were definitely times in the extra half hour that I wanted to stop, or walk for a bit before running again, but I pushed through those feelings. I knew they were all mental, and that physically I could keep going. So I did. I was hurting, particularly a muscle on my left hip that I overtaxed somehow and pulled a few days ago, but I was ok with it hurting badly the next day (which it totally does, by the way!!! oww).

I’m so excited. I pushed myself to run for 90 minutes. I ran 900 calories (that was my goal!!!), and I ran farther than I ever have before. I ran 6.5 miles!!! My last best run was 5 miles several years ago, and that was only once. The most I have run since this journey started in January 2011 was 4.5 miles. I exceeded that by 2 miles last night! Whoo hoo!

I think I proved that I can run and have the mental energy to keep going, even if I feel like quitting. If I keep training, and if I do this without a partially hurt/injured muscle, then I think I can definitely do 2 hours instead of 1 1/2. I am going to try and do that in a few weeks. I’m so excited, and I just had to share.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2011 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
