RSS

Over indulging and weight loss status

19 Feb

I’ve been eating a little less awesome this week. I went out to lunch with a coworker friend and had a route 66 inspired hash with sweet potato and chorizo sausage. Salad and fruit of course, instead of the included fry bread, but it was a little on the oily side (but man oh man was it incredibly fabulous). The restaurant uses pretty good quality ingredients and cooks mostly from scratch, so it was a high calorie meal with 2 poached eggs on top, but nothing like an outback bloomin’ onion!

I’d rather eat the occasional non low-calorie meal and keep working out hard. Maybe that mentality is a problem, we shall see.

Last night I couldn’t stop eating this incredibly large and scrumptious sirloin steak I cooked. It was extra thick, which means it was extra nice after cooking (red all the way through and not overcooked). Funny, I used to be vegetarian and vegan for 8 years, and while I *loooove* tofu and vegetables (and dislike a lot of beans), I absolutely love love love steak. I think it’s one of my top 10 foods. Luckily i only eat it about once every other week. So I couldn’t stop myself from finishing off the steak, which was realistically 2 good sized servings! It had this awesome sear from the cast iron skillet, and beautiful himalayan salt crystals and fresh black pepper on it.

I bet you’re reading this and thinking, oh well, you’ll do better next week. It was only a minor glitch and only 2 occasions. Well guess what? I STILL lost weight this week! I had a large meal earlier inthe week too, thought I’d weight a day or two before weighing in at the gym, to allow it time to settle and clear out of my system. I weighed-in at 216! But the scale uses the balance bar with the weights, so I feel like it’s not always super accurate. I waited until last night and tried again, to make sure and It was a little UNDER 216, so I am officially still losing weight!!! Yes!

I am making decent choices and planning, and eating mostly from scratch all the time. My food is quality items, cooked in olive oil with almost no sugar or butter. I still overindulge when it comes time for dinner, and have challenges eating out (which is why I don’t really want to!). I don’t believe I have any kind of eating disorder, but I do really like my food and really enjoy it when I eat it. I think about food an awful lot and I greatly look forward to eating, but when I do eat, I don’t feel it’s unhealthy. I really love my cats and think about them all the time. DOes that make me unhealthy? I think some people really like to eat, and I am unfortunately one of them. I’ll just have to keep fighting hte good fight, of eating controlling how much butter, sour cream, heavy cream, sugar, white flour, whipped cream, and hte like I consume. If I can stick to plain fruits and veggies, steamed veggies with no butter, minimal amounts of red meat, more fish and chicken, then I will be doing ok.  Oh, and more FOOD and less dessert, too.

Well, still successful, and will work harder this coming week on the ingredients I use in dinner!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2011 in Food planning

 

2 responses to “Over indulging and weight loss status

  1. RickGetsFit

    February 19, 2011 at 12:51

    Good job on the loss, all things considered! Mmmm, bloomin’ onion… Mmmm! Cheers, Rick

     
  2. Rachael

    February 19, 2011 at 16:34

    I wasn’t thinking “well you’ll do better next week”. I was thinking it’s always nice to have what we really want sometimes. I to love food and would rather do a hard workout sometimes than watch what I eat. As long as I keep in mind “everything in moderation” I am usually good. Nice job on the loss. Keep moving forward you’re doing AWESOME!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
