RSS

AMAZING running highlight!

17 Feb

I just had to post a quick hell yeah! I went to the gym (2 hours later than usual, and very very very hungry!) and got on the treadmill. I was intending to just go slow and see how I my foot coped, but somehow I ended up running. And running, and running… My foot felt ok, and I concentrated really hard on good foot form (meaning placement that wouldn’t hurt or jar areas of my foot that hurt or get injured). It seemed to work.

So I ran 4.5 miles and burned 650 calories. In an hour. I walked for 4 minutes total out of that, 2 minutes to warm up and 2 quick breaks during.

This is the *most* I have ever run at one time, IN MY LIFE. I have done 4 miles (twice I think), maybe even 4.25 miles once, but never ever more than that. I am stunned. And I am still very heavy, and only on my 7th week of gym time. Holy moley, where did this come from?

I think the anti-chafing glide stuff I got from the running store must be the reason. I would previously¬†run a bunch, then get a nasty rash that takes 3-4 days to clear up so I can’t even walk, and now, I’m perfect, the whole time, with no chafing, no rash, no raw areas, anywhere. Possibly TMI, but this has been the biggest struggle in my life, dealing with chafing and exercise. This has been the single biggest frustration, and one that has brought me to tears many times over. I never knew there was a solution (and talk/baby powder does absolute crap!!).

I know I didn’t take it slow, and I’m probably going to regret it, but I feel like I’m on cloud 9. I’ve even increased my speed a tiny bit. I can slowly increase up to 4.9 by the end of the hour and still maintain it! Yeah, I’m getting faster!

Anyway, me and my bursting pride are way tired and are going to hit the hay, only an hour and 15 minutes later than usual. Night all!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
