RSS

Wow. Major running milestone!

11 Feb

I did something amazing tonight!! I ran for 56 minutes straight, with no stops. I ran for 4.25 miles and 615 calories before I went to a walk to cool down. It wasn’t super fast or anything, only speed 4.5, but wow. I started with the hope that I’d go 30 minutes without stopping, and I kept making myself stick with it. It was hard, mentally, very very hard! Physically I was in a good heart rate zone, not too maxed out, not too out of breath, and at some point I felt my body a bit disconnected from me. It felt like it was a machine, running without conscious volition. I tried to keep my mental issues of being tired, feeling like I should stop, separated from my ability to run, and kept pushing, make it to 10 minutes left, make it to 4 miles, make it to 600 calories, and then when a really awesome song started playing,  for the duration of the song.

Whew. I don’t feel overstressed physically, though I think because I was unable to stop and drink, I’m a bit dehydrated (at least thirsty). My knees and feet feel ok. Wow. I can’t believe I made it already and it’s only week 6!  The previous best run I had was for like 23 minutes! Now I have to work on increasing speed.

I will say, that for the same burn of calories, running an hour at a low speed, and walking up a steep incline, which technically are the same caloric exercises, that running feels like more of a physical challenge. Maybe it was the not stopping? I don’t know, but I feel like it was a lot more difficult to accomplish. I’m very pleased with myself. I feel like I made it to a milestone,of some sort!

And I’m still losing weight, the scale says I’ve lost 8 or 9 pounds so far, it was reading 216-7, but I didn’t drink enough during the workout, so that could be part of it. On that good news, time for dinner. The dumplings are almost done to put on salad and I’m starving! 8 ling ling dumplings, a ginormous salad, half a can of mandarin oranges, 1/4 avocado, a crumble of goat cheese, salt, pepper, a sprinkle of nutritional yeast, plus some homemade balsalmic vinegar dressing.

Now it’s time for a movie, and bed. I have to get up early and meet my friend forfour snowshoeing adventure up at Snoqualmie Pass (in the rain) tomorrow.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in Gym

 

One response to “Wow. Major running milestone!

  1. Rachael

    February 13, 2011 at 18:19

    Wow! That is amazing. There was a point in my life when I could run (before knee problems and hip replacement). I go to the gym every day and have runners envy when I see people running. I live vicariously through others like you. Thanks the run was awesome!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
