RSS

Cake…and a consolation prize

25 Jan

J made a 2-tier cake and finished it last night. There were multiple steps that took multiple days. Make the lemon marmalade. Turn that into a lemon marmalade glaze. Make buttercream. Bake 2 cakes. Let the buttercream cool and harden. Assemble. Well last night it was completed. We each had a slice. I had had a large-sized dinner, so I stopped halfway through and didn’t finish the slice. Bully for me!

Well, I did not want this cake loitering at home, even though it’s not on my top 10 food favorites. I will still eat it, as it is already made, and it is yummy. J gave me half to take in today to give away to coworkers. Well, I didn’t bring enough for lunch, or well, I brought enough, but I’m not used to eating so little. It’s 4 pm, and I’m starving. I am thinking about the big huge chunk o’ yummy cake in the next office, knowing it is left over and wanting to eat it since I am so hungry. I mean really *hungry*! I’ve been hungry for like 2 hours, talking myself out of eating this and that (such as chocolates I have squirreled away at my desk for desperate times).

So what did I end up doing? I did not eat the cake! Instead, I made a packet of oatmeal. It still has sugar in it, but at least it’s only 155 calories and has a lot of fiber and other yummy, stick-to-your-ribs goodness. But it’s a poor consolation prize compared to cake. As my coworker said when I showed her (with a huge frowny on my face) “that makes me sad.”

Yes, I am sad. Triumphant. But sad. This is a bittersweet story (like the marmalade, haha). And there’s still a third of the cake at home. That makes me even more sad. (And I won’t even mention the leftover buttercream that J saved for “cupcakes.” But I don’t WANT cupcakes! I’ll eat them! You’re not ALLOWED to make cupcakes.)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Cake…and a consolation prize

  1. RickGetsFit

    January 25, 2011 at 17:11

    Congrats on your bittersweet win. You’ll be happier next time you weigh in! Cheers, Rick

     
    • dietmaven

      January 25, 2011 at 17:38

      Thank you. I am still bemoaning my fate, but the resolution is still firm!

       
  2. Heather

    January 26, 2011 at 15:15

    You’re describing the type of battles I have with myself constantly! Good job not eating the cake (I think, maybe it would be better to let yourself have some and minimize it’s power–I really don’t know). But I’m sure it’s good you’re keeping to the decisions you make. Best of luck.

     
    • dietmaven

      January 26, 2011 at 18:24

      Well, I did have one *small* piece the first night. And last night, while I was on the treadmill, I kept thinking about it, and realizing that while I wanted it somewhat, I didn’t NEED it and that I just wasn’t going to!! Luckily J’s been making inroads on the remainer and there’s only 1 slice left, so I think after tonight I will be safe! 🙂

       
  3. Sasha

    January 27, 2011 at 09:54

    It’ll get easier, I promise! I ate a piece of cake yesterday but it was just a piece and I only do that about every four months. In between I satisfy myself with things like oatmeal and flaxseed cookies with sunflower seeds, pumpkin bread and applesauce bread. But again, I don’t overdo it and that part does get easier. I know, I keep saying that but it’s true!

     
    • dietmaven

      January 27, 2011 at 10:30

      It actually wasn’t that hard, but I still can’t believe he made a CAKE when we have just STARTED trying to lose weight (he’s got 30 lbs to lose, I have 75). I kept calling him an enabler. I should start doing low-fat baked goods. I occasionally eat energy-type bars and while I like them, they are not always that satisfying, and they have a lot of calories and sugary coatings which annoy me. Zucchini bread sounds way better! Or Morning Glory muffins, or something.

       

Leave a Reply

 
