RSS

Six days in a row, whoo hoo!

20 Jan

I made it 6 days in a row at the gym. Awesome. I’m looking forward to my day off today.

Yesterday, Wednesday night I really pushed doing the weights, and it felt good. It was hard, I’m not really strong yet, but I’m finding my groove. I’ve got a routine for full body, have finally learned how to use the equipment I’ve selected to use, and know what settings and weight amounts to use (which is enough to just barely, by the skin of my teeth, be able to finish the last 2 reps in sets 2 and 3, with a lot of grimacing, groaning, teeth clenching and muscle overloading). Now the only I have to contend with are my shoulder, which is holding up pretty well, and the gym crowds. The shoulder twinged a lot less yesterday, I think it’s partially repairing ligament damage from 2 years ago, but also loss of strength and poor blood flow and flexibility in that area. It could be adhesions in the fascia causing stress/discomfort. Anyway, I’m being careful not to aggrivate anything and to do it safely. If in doubt, lower the weight. If still in doubt, slow down/stop the exercise. Unfortunately, nothing I can do about the crowds. I guess I’ll suffer with everyone else for a few more weeks (which is funny, since I just started going again on Jan. 2, ha ha, I know I’m one of “them”).

I’m taking care to not overdo the weight and to maintian proper form, rather than force it and muscle through it wrongly and potentially damage something. I’m doing 3 sets right now, 15 reps of everything if I can do it, 10 or 12 if I can’t.

Got home, ate dinner, and then had to go in to work pretty late for overtime, so didn’t make it to bed until after 1. Ugh, dragged my feet this morning, and let me tell you, it couldn’t be a better time to have a day off! The extra money is a bonus.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Six days in a row, whoo hoo!

  1. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    January 20, 2011 at 15:23

    Way to go! Consistency is everything!

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 16:45

      Thanks! It’s a struggle. I gotta tell myself that everyday: go to the gym. You have to go tonight. Well, some days are easier.

       
  2. RickGetsFit

    January 20, 2011 at 16:31

    Great job – six days is great, you deserve a day off 🙂 Cheers, Rick

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 16:47

      I do, don’t I?!?!?!?! I’m decompressing at Starbucks with my plain herbal tea, no honey, no milk, no high-calorie latte. I love down time. And not having to scramble up some clean workout clothes is a bonus, too. Happy day off!

       

Leave a Reply

 
