RSS

Some nights you just don’t want to go

18 Jan

Tonight was a struggle going to the gym, and working out once at the gym. I had a big wonderful hour run/walk on Sunday, and woke up Monday with a very sore muscle on my left quad. It made driving my manual truck very very difficult. Lifting my leg every time I had to engage the clutch was a challenge, to say the least! Today was just as bad. Between feeling like I wanted to stay home and recover (ie, not go to the gym! what an amazing excuse!) and feeling a tiny bit under the weather (an almost headache, and a general bad attitude), I had to talk myself into going. Luckily my partner in crime, J, said I needed to go. So we both went.

It was hard, I have to admit. I didn’t make it the full 60 minutes, but I was close. I didn’t make it to 600 calories which was my goal, but barely made it to 500, and even that much was pushing it. Running was hard. I did intervals, 3 minutes running, low speed (4.5 to 4.7), and 1 minute walking. I figured if I was going to go slow, I should not give myself a lot of recovery time. Ugh. Hard. But I did it. I persevered and continued my streak. I’ve been at the gym non-stop since Thursday, and I’m planning on going in Weds night for more weights.

Heart rate was consistently 158-168 the entire time I ran. I sweat a lot, and my face took forever to stop being beet red. I think it’s about time I brought a towel! My shirt is getting gross with all the sweat wiping I was doing. You can say it with me…EW!

I’m going in to the gym now with the attitude that I need to do an hour of cardio. My last stint at the gym, over 2 1/2 years ago, I would do 30-40 minutes of cardio, very rarely an hour. I think increased time and higher frequency (more than 3 times a week!) should be paying off. We shall see.

Oh, and I came home and was not very interested in eating. In fact, some foods seemed gross, almost nauseating. Have you ever had that? Does it mean something? I still ate dinner, and I feel good for having done so, but I could easily have skipped the meal. I figured I would regret it later if I didn’t, either later tonight, or tomorrow morning. It was at least healthy: tofu bun – thin vietnamese rice noodles (rehydrated in water, no oil, no fat), raw lettuce, raw carrots julienned, raw cucumber julienned, chopped peanuts, and tofu slices pan-fried in olive oil (after dipping in corn starch), topped with a tamarind/fish sauce, and a little hoisin for dipping the tofu into. I think I have to make the sauce a little sweeter, maybe some honey? It is just a little too sour from the tamarind, and J’s trying to keep the sugar content down, so he almost put no palm sugar in it at all.

Ok, need to get some rest, lately I have had the hardest time getting up in the morning, I feel like I need extra sleep with all the gym time. Every morning I feel like I will die if i don’t get an extra 2 hours. I’m surprised I’ve made it in on time to work!!!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in Gym

 

11 responses to “Some nights you just don’t want to go

  1. RickGetsFit

    January 19, 2011 at 12:16

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – I added you to my blog friend links. As for your cardio, awesome work. I’m eating lean and clean, but I need to be hitting the gym… Soon! Cheers, Rick

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 10:00

      Thanks Rick, I really liked your blog as well (and already added it to my links)! Yeah, it’s a committment to spend your evenings, every day, focused on gym time and eating well. I’m glad I don’t watch tv or have cable, or I wouldn’t be able to do it! The gym is good, it will make you feel better, but you probably need to make more time for sleep, too (and I know that was an issue of yours, so it may help there too!).

       
  2. Sasha

    January 19, 2011 at 16:18

    No, I don’t lose my appetite like that. In fact, the thought of me losing my appetite is very “ha ha”. Although, I don’t have cravings anymore which is why I don’t fear my hearty appetite, if that makes sense. 😉

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 10:03

      Well, unfortunately, it is only temporary appetite loss, and I usually end up eating anyway. I figured I need to get energy/nutrients from food after a grueling work out. It may sound all hunky-dory to not eat food, but I don’t think it would be good. And after the first bite, I’m usually back to normal hungry. At least I’m not craving big bags of chips or a bowl of popcorn with half a stick of butter on it (which I have done, often…). And it makes sense, having a healthy appetite for real food, nutritious food, is a good thing. I don’t think it’s maintainable to skimp, or eat low-calorie crap, in the long haul.

       
      • Sasha

        January 20, 2011 at 14:06

        I totally agree. There are only so many nasty little low calorie tastes-like-the-bag-it-comes-in snacks a person can eat before they realize they’re not eating real food.

         
  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    January 19, 2011 at 16:25

    If I do long cardio like that, I’m not really hungry for a couple of hours.

    Doing shorter workouts, alternating high intensity and lower intensity is said to be just as effective, if not more so , in keeping our metabolism revved up and burning fat. You might want to switch it up a little sometimes!

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 11:05

      Cammy, thanks, glad to know my reaction is normal. It’s such an odd thing that it really stood out! I am definitely going to switch it up, but I an loving running so much right now and I really want to progress on my endurance and speed for alittle while. I’ll probably be doing more classes going forward, once I get a little more bored/used to it. I am going to have to make myself do the elliptical and rowing, which are less interesting to do.

       
  4. Heather

    January 19, 2011 at 21:54

    Losing my appetite – basically never happens to me (unless I’m getting sick, but I don’t want to jinx you – not that I believe in that – oh, nevermind). I do think that some days I just have more energy than others. It’s probably related to things I’m eating but I haven’t been able to figure it out if it is – I just try to roll with it and figure my body needs more rest that day. Thanks for visiting my blog!

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 11:07

      Been there, done that (being sick) – I’m just getting over cold #2. The people at the gym must love me, blowing my nose while I’m on the treadmill!!! My energy is definitely getting better, but enough sleep, and recovery time can be really important too – finding the right balance is the tricky part! I’ll keep an eye on your blog. Appreciate you visiting mine!

       
  5. Rachael

    January 20, 2011 at 12:27

    Going to the gym when your sore is definitely a challenge. I struggled yesterday to go to the gym. When my husband and I leave the gym we both look at each other and say “glad that’s over with” and laugh. It is the feeling of accomplishment when you finish a workout that you dreaded. I have tried to switch things up a little changing from alternating days between cardio and strength training to spending 30 minutes doing cardio and 30 minutes strength training each day. The change has been nice. Thanks for the post it is nice to see how people work through excuses. 🙂

     
    • dietmaven

      January 20, 2011 at 12:45

      I agree, it is hard! I think that’s why so many people either don’t do it, or don’t do it enough to be worthwhile (particularly for weight loss!). It can definitely be a daily and weekly struggle to maintain momentum, and not only that, to keep PUSHING when you do go, to get the most out of your time there. I really think having a partner in crime, either a spouse/partner, roommate, or close friend, to keep you honest and call you on it when you’re waffling is a great thing. Best of luck. Keep fighting the good fight!

       

Leave a Reply

 
