RSS

Recap: the past few days

09 Jan

Well, I think I have finally turned the corner on cold #2. Yesterday I still didn’t feel up for the gym, so that was 3 days in a row with no exercise. I’d been coughing a lot, so my throat was raw, and I didn’t want to start huffing and puffing and then have a huge coughing/phlegm errupting attack in public. You can thank me for that!

Today I absolutely *had* to go though – I had my intro powerpump class and I needed to do it (after all, I did sign up for it, right?). Well, I made it through almost the entire class! I didn’t do nearly as poorly as I thought I might. I’m definitely week, and need some serious improvement, but overall I did ok. Only had to stop and blow my nose 3 times. However, I hadn’t done abs yet. I told my boyfriend, J, that I would start in a week, and today was it. We did some ab work and near the end my stomach muscles freaked out, pulled/spasmed, and I had to stretch out and tough it out. I couldn’t get up from the floor for several minutes! Ok, so that was embarassing, but no big deal. I’m one of the larger people in the class, and it’s expected that the fat girl can’t make it all the way through. My pride can take it, for now. My muscles are shaky and sore and I’m so glad I went. They have them twice a week. I should be able to make at least 1, possibly both (if work allows).

And tonight they have iron chef on at 7 pm, so J and I will be going back for at least 1 hour of cardio. I can’t believe it – tv is making me go to the gym. Or rather, NOT having tv is making me go to the gym. Either way, I’ll take it. It’s one of our absolutely favorite shows. We are both avid cooks. He used to chef, and I have taught cooking classes (vegan! back when I was not eating meat and dairy). We are both avid cooks, so we love this show, it is so innovative and fast, and crazy, with all the cooking tech, the crazy chairman, and the wierd ingredients, and the 5 course meals!

Food: I’ve been sticking relatively well to my improved diet. Yesterday, I had a foray to the mall, and was going to be out for a chunk of the day, so I was worried. I had a big breakfast with a blueberry/yogurt/soymilk smoothie and an english muffin. However, I spent the entire day *starving* – have you ever had those? Where you try and eat well, but everything you eat is not quite enough, and after a while you just can’t stand it anymore? I tried to have good snacks, but I kept getting hungry. I tried to find the lowest calorie item to eat, and ended up having a non-fat small frozen yogurt with strawberries. According to their nutrition info, it should only ahve been about 125 calories total. It was luscious and helped, a lot. I kept wanting to snack during the afternoon, too! A few crackers with cheddar. A small salad with oil/balsalmic dressing. A hunk of baguette with jarlsberg cheese, grilled. But by dinner, I couldn’t stand it, so I probably ate way more than I should have, but it was relatively within bounds: I roasted a chicken, had a breast (with the skin, I know, I  know…), and a big helping of roasted veggies (with olive oil, but not a huge amount), quinoa, and a pan sauce with drippings, shallot, chix stock, and lemon, over the quinoa. Maybe only 500 calories extra, I hope. I’m not quite counting calories yet, so I’m not 100% sure.

We went shopping Friday night and planned out a few dinners this week:
2 salad dinners with either pan-sauteed shrimp and some other meat (maybe ling-lings)
Vietnamese bun (rice noodle bowl with fresh carrot, lettuce, cukes, peanuts, left-over roasted chicken or grilled tofu
Pork loin cutlets with steamed broccoli and something else (polenta?)

Breakfasts will probably start being blueberry smoothies as I’m out of english muffins now. I also bought a serious quantity of red grapefruit from safeway ($.59 each!!!!), so I’ll be making fresh grapefruit/orange jucie (with the orange in it, it won’t be too bitter to drink alone). I may have this in the evening for a pick-me-up. I’m also going to be making a trip to a different market – they have my favorite bars on sale for $1/each – cliff mojo bars! I may pick up like 30 if I can.

Lunches this week, I may need to go buy more sandwhich meat. I think I am going to make a soup tonight, something veggie with garbanzos in it, which reminds me, I better go soak them now!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2011 in Food planning

 

2 responses to “Recap: the past few days

  1. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    January 11, 2011 at 09:27

    Oh good for you for going to the class! I still haven’t garnered the courage to try one. Maybe next week. 🙂

     
    • dietmaven

      January 11, 2011 at 13:00

      Do it and get it over with! It may kick your ass, but a few weeks later and you’ll be grateful! And to be honest, the moves and techniques are not all that hard.

       

Leave a Reply

 
